Women Development Cell (WDC)

In pursuance of the directions issued by the UGC and MHRD, the Nirma University has set up the Women Development Cell (WDC) and prescribed norms to sensitise the community with regard to gender related issues and create a gender friendly environment.


To provide and maintain a dignified, congenial working environment for women employees (including teaching, non-teaching and contractual workers) and students, where they can work, study and explore their potential to the fullest, a WDC committee has been constituted.

Role and Functions

  1. To sensitise all members of Nirma University community towards the Supreme Court and statutory mandate prohibiting gender discriminations and sexual harassment at the work place and encourage involvement through academic, cultural and outreach activities such as talks, seminars, workshops, community action, drama, street theatre, poster-making etc.
  2. To provide for dialogue, discussion, and deliberation on women’s rights and gender-related issues.
  3. To encourage participation from NGOs and law enforcement agencies in this area.
  4. To become a resource centre for women and provide a forum for exchange of ideas.
  5. To review safety and security measures for female employees and girl students at Nirma University campus.

Who can approach the WDC

Any person including faculty, staff, contractual employee, temporary employee, casual worker, and student of Nirma University can approach the Women Development Cell.

Members of Women Development Cell 

Name Designation
Dr Shalini S, Institute of Law Chairperson
Prof Jigna Shah, Institute of Pharmacy Faculty Coordinator
Ms Vibha Gajjar, Institute of Architecture & Planning
Ms Ritu Agarwal, Publication Officer, Nirma University Staff Coordinator
Dr Neha Patni, Institute of Technology Member
Dr Amee Nair, Institute of Science
Ms Shreya Srivastava, Institute of Law
Dr Krishna Patel, Department of Design
Dr Praneti Shah, Institute of Management
Dr Nagja Tripathi, Institute of Pharmacy
Ms Pratima Singh, Institute of Architecture & Design
Dr Avani Shah, Institute of Commerce
Dr Nilesh Patel, Nirma University
Dr Ravindra Sen, Nirma University
Ms Ishwa Shah (18BCE218) & Mr Ansh Harendra Singh (20BCH004), Institute of Technology Student Representative
Ms Priya Patel (18FTPHDS45) & Mr Devang Trivedi (19FTPHDS47), Institute of Science
Ms Aditi Bharadwaj (18BAL078) & Mr Shivam Sharma (19BBL053), Institute of Law
Ms Akanksha Kanamadi (18BDI003) & Mr Shaunak Roychowdhury (18BDI032), Institute of Design
Ms Harshita Premchandani (201316) & Mr Rishabh Jadhav (201340), Institute of Management
Ms Bhakti Thakker (18BHP006) & Mr Kunj Vyas (18BHP043), Institute of Pharmacy
Ms Charmi N Gondaliya (18BPL006) & Mr Jvalant N Devrukhkar (18BAR049), Institute of Architecture & Design
Ms Harshita Gupta (IC191116) & Mr Prince Parekh (IC191243), Institute of Commerce
Ms A P Prashya, Asst Registrar (PhD Section), Nirma University Member Secretary



Ms A P Prashya
Member Secretary, Women Development Cell (WDC)
Assistant Registrar (PhD Section)
Email: phd.section@nirmauni.ac.in
Phone: 079-71652685